“Intentional Research” versus “Haphazard Research”

IMG_1020

I teach my students A LOT of research skills.  I really enjoy guiding them to become “intentional researchers” and toss away their former haphazard research ways!

This year when I teach, I make the resources available on a Google Site for them to refer to after the lesson.  I have used the term “haphazard research” so often with my students that I was inspired to make a T chart to identify the difference between “intentional research” versus “haphazard research”.  Here it is!

The Google Site really expands on the concepts if you want more detail or handouts, etc.

Link here for a larger view

researcher t chart

12 thoughts on ““Intentional Research” versus “Haphazard Research”

  1. May I have permission to share this as a handout to my English teachers? I will apply citation credit in your name. Thanks in advance.
    Darlene

  2. khornberger says:

    Hi Darlene,
    Absolutely that would be ok! I have been battling this post for a little while this morning. I have what I feel is a better quality (without a typo) for you to copy now. Just link into the larger view and you will be good! I’m honored that you are sharing it! Thanks!

  3. Sharon Carter says:

    This chart if great! May I have permission to upload it to the Media Center’s web page via Edline.net? I will credit your name and blog.
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. khornberger says:

    Hi Sharon,
    It would be an honor! Thanks!!!
    Karen

  5. Rosanne Zajko says:

    Excellent resource!!

  6. khornberger says:

    Thanks, Rosanne!!!!

  7. J. Mason says:

    Karen,
    Just finished our senior grad projects and these are the ideas I have been trying to get across. The chart says it all. What a great visual to share.
    Thanks

  8. khornberger says:

    Thanks!!! I find it is always helpful to give them something to refer to since there is no guarantee that my words will stick (at least not all of them)

  9. Kira Baumgardner says:

    I would also like to share this with my teachers at my schools. Thanks so much. This is a great resource!

  10. Thank you so much! I will definitely share with my English Dept. and credit you as the source. This is great!
    Darlene

  11. […] By asking students to intentionally locate quantitative information which supports their thesis statement, students who are researching will begin to lay the groundwork in preparation for college –level writing.  It also helps broaden the research process making them more intentional than haphazard. […]

Leave a Reply

